Yoga is a traditional and cultural science of India. It is nearly 5,000-10,000 years old. It is considered both as an art as well as science from the past till now. It is an ancient practice evolved by the sages of India. It consists of eight stages of development in a step by step manner. It effects all the physical, mental, social and spiritual aspects of our life.  Yoga is a physical system with a spiritual basis.

“Yoga” or “Yog” is a Sanskrit word which derives its origin from the root word “Yuj”. It has two main meanings—union (yujyati) and concentration (samadhau). In the sense of union, it means to combine, connect or join together the individual soul with the universal soul. The second sense of concentration means complete control over one’s senses and reach the state of  pure awareness(Samadhi). It is one of the six great philosophies (shad darshans) of India. It is an ancient system of philosophy, lifestyle and techniques that helps in evolving the whole personality of a person. Read More

Read More

Trataka or yogic practice of concentrated gazing is an ancient hatha yoga exercise used for all round development of our body, mind and soul. The meaning of word trataka is “to look fixedly” or “to stare pointedly”. The concept of trataka is defined clearly by some yogis and old yoga texts like hatha yoga pradipika. This is how hatha yoga pradipika defines it:

Nireekshaennischaladrsâ sukshmalakshya samâhita

Asrusampâtaparyantam âchâryaisrtâtakam smrtam

Being calm, a practitioner should gaze steadily at a small mark (a small thing), till eyes are filled with tears. This is called trataka by the âchâryas. Read More

Read More

Purusha and prakriti are two abstract entities clearly defined in sankhya philosophy. It is quite similar to the yin and yang principles of Chinese philosophy. Sankhya philosophy is one of  the six main schools of Indian philosophies  also known as shad darshans. It is a dualistic and realistic philosophy which discusses the  two main  principles called purusha and prakriti in a detailed manner. Purusha and Prakriti are two basic, opposite, independent and eternal principles that are the main cause and reason behind the human existence. Purusha is a Sanskrit term which means spirit, person, self or consciousness in Indian philosophy. In Sankhya it means the principle of spirit or pure consciousness. It represents the male aspect of creation. Purusha is an inactive, unchangeable, universal and eternal entity. It is innumerable as there are human beings. Prakriti simply means nature. Prakriti is the principle of matter or substance. It is a non self without consciousness. Prakriti is active, changeable, earthly and eternal entity.  It represents the female aspect of creation. The entire universe is created out of Prakriti or the fundamental matter. According to Sankhya the world is created as a result of the union between Purusha and Prakriti. Read More

Read More